Alcohol is a drug…

As a parent and a professional, I am constantly amazed at the attitude of indifference about young people and alcohol. In spite of the fact that it’s illegal and it is the cause of more deaths than all other drugs combined, both parents and teens seem to accept it’s use as a normal “right of passage”! I was amazed to find that I was alone in expecting that my teenage daughter would NOT drink before, during or after prom. Graduation is just a few weeks away and I stand by my position with my graduate…I will not allow alcohol or other drugs to be consumed with my knowledge and if she chooses to do so there will be appropriate consequences.

I also realize that many parents have struggling teens and are themselves struggling to assist their children navigate the difficulties that young people are faced with. By not seeking help, parents are raising the bar of tolerance in the home and at the same time increasing the isolative existence within their home!

An Educational Consultant can help families with concerns and families in crisis. The Educational Consultants at Bodin are trained clinicians ready to develop solid plans for success for students and familes.

If you have concerns about your troubled teen check out www.thebodingroup.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thebodingroupblog.wordpress.com/2008/06/03/alcohol-is-a-drug/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment